Mama Pensées

The Various Thoughts of a Mama…

The Best Homemade Onion Dip

leave a comment »

I had a fierce craving for onion dip a few weeks ago. I spent about 3 days checking the various grocery stores in the area, but I wasn’t able to find a pre-made dip or a packaged onion soup mix that didn’t have MSG in it (usually as one of the first three ingredients). After searching around on the internet, I found a recipe that looked promising…so I gave that a try, and it was pretty darn good! But the recipe calls for fresh onions that are carmelized…I don’t normally keep fresh onions in the house (after throwing out one too many sprouted, mushy potato because they were in the same cupboard). So I’ve done a little playing with the recipe, and I’ve come up with my own version that I swear tastes just like the Lipton’s Soup Mix version…only without any pesky MSG-induced migraines afterwards 🙂

The Best Homemade Onion Dip

3 Tbsp dried onions, rehydrated (this, according to the back of the jar of dried onions, is equal to 1/2 Cup of fresh chopped onions)

1 Cup (8 oz.) sour cream

1/4 tsp sea salt

1/8 tsp garlic powder

1/8 tsp white pepper

Mix all ingredients thoroughly. Refrigerate 2 hours and stir before serving. (It’s *good* fresh-made…but even better after sitting in the fridge for a few hours, and absolutely awesome if you can stand to let it “mosh” overnight.)

Enjoy!

Written by Sada D.

September 3, 2010 at 8:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

